TiE Script Writing – 02.12.16

Today we have decided to meet up together once Audition Prep is over and finish writing the script and the lyrics to the songs. Tom B isn’t with us today because he is singing with some Uni students and so he is writing the end of the story at the weekend.

Here are the lyrics for the Egyptian song:

 

Egypt Song

Verse 1

It’s an animal with two humps

It spits a lot

Cause it’s got the grumps

It doesn’t need that much water

So let’s get going cause we oughta

Oooohhhh x2

 

Chorus

We need a painting of the pyramid x2

Yes we really need a painting x2

Because our time is very limited

 

Verse 2

As we’re travelling by the Nile

See the dangerous crocodiles

The desert’s full of yellow sand

And the hot sun beats down on the land

Ooooohhh x

 

Chorus]

 

Verse 3

In the Pyramids there’s a hidden room

Where they put their Pharaohs in a tomb

There’s pictures all across the walls

And lots of shiny sparkly jewels

Oooohh x2

 

Chorus- repeat last line.

 

We are writing the different parts that we were each assigned with each others input which is really helpful considering that we are struggling a little.

I have found out that I am actually really good at coming up with rhymes for this project and I really enjoy coming up with them and making sense of the riddles.

Here is what I have written for the ‘paris’ section:

Back at the museum after Eygpt:

 

ALL:                What’s next?

FLEUR:          Let’s take a look at the pictures and see if we can figure out where they next one is?

TIMOTHY:      Good Idea! If we look really closely maybe the…

ELEANOR:    I know! I know!

TIMOTHY:      You do?

FLEUR:          Really?

ELEANOR:   No. But let’s call GRESELDA, it’s the only way.

HERMES:      Greselda? It’s Hermes,

Are you hidden in that tree?

Come into the museum and

Give this clue to me.

I just want my paintings because they mean a lot,

I am your brother after all, have you forgot?

GRESELDA: I haven’t forgotten brother,

Don’t you worry about that?

If you work this clue out quickly,

I’ll be less of a brat.

Your time is nearly up my friends,

You only have an hour.

When the clock strikes 12

I will have all power.

 

Here is the last clue I will give,

Do it well and your painting will live?

Otherwise I will throw it in the fire,

To keep content my heart’s desire.

(THE EIFFEL TOWER RIDDLE:)

This place is a shape with three points,

That shines up in the dark.

It’s a place of romance for some,

The painting is at this landmark.

ELEANOR:    HURRY NOW GUYS! ITS GETTING REALLY LATE. THE MUSEUM WILL CLOSE BEFORE WE GET ALL THE PICTURES.

COME ON TIMOTHY, THINK THINK THINK! YOU’RE THE SMARTEST ONE AROUND, YOU COULD DO THIS IN YOUR SLEEP!

TIMOTHY:      Why are you rhyming?

ELEANOR:    Well… I want to be magic and the genies were doing it…

FLEUR:          Enough! We need to concentrate really hard, close your eyes boys and girls and count to 10. Maybe once we’ve counted we will know what the answer is! 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10! Anything?

ELEANOR: YES! The shape is a TRIANGLE!? That has three points?! Right?

TIMOTHY: That’s it!

FLEUR: The only place I know to be romantic is Paris…

 

Just done the riddle for Paris and have sung the song… the next dialogue

After The Paris Song:

 

ALL:    (all look at each other as they all think of the same place)

THE EFFIEL TOWER!!!

WE’VE GOT IT!!

GRESELDA: Now you have all defeated me,

How do you feel?

I guess now I will have to continue with my deal.

The painting are all crisp and clear,

I didn’t even damage them when you weren’t here.

FLUER:          Well at least they aren’t damaged?!

HERMES:      I was so upset when the paintings had gone,

But it will be okay, let’s learn to get along.

Let’s go back to the museum and make amends.

Maybe after this we could even be friends.

(THIS IS TOM’S SECTION AND AT THE END OF HIS SECTION GRESELDA WILL SAY WHAT FOLLOWS:)

 

GRESELDA: I am sorry Hermes for upsetting you,

But I am jealous of what you do.

You’re always out an about and or sitting on your throne,

And I just wear grey and I’m always all alone.

 

t-i-e-script-year-2-complete-copy

Here is what we have written all together today. I think that we have done really well as a group and have worked well. Considering that we only had 4 of us instead of 5 I think that we did extremely well to come up with the ideas and rhymes…etc.

The rhymes that I have created I’m really proud and impressed with. I have done really well to catch up with everyone considering that I have missed a few of the lessons that we have had previously for our TIE project. Thanks to Erica we had a head start and we are well on our way. Considering that we thought we would only be finishing the script the day before the rehearsed reading and we’ve already nearly completed the whole entire script in one day is really impressive and I’m really proud of all of our team; because after all, we are a team.

One thought on “TiE Script Writing – 02.12.16”

  1. Jess, good work by the group not letting themselves use Tom B’s absence as a reason not to get on with things, this is how the industry expects you to work. Good work on the rhyming parts of the script; is there the opportunity to refine the rhymes so that they work across the script more consistently? It was one of the reasons why I didn’t always appreciate during the rehearsed reading that the genies spoke in rhyme and the non-magic characters didn’t. Sometimes there was a lovely rhythmic pattern in the way the genies spoke where the lines were of a similar length and where every other line rhymed like in some nursery rhymes e.g.

    Mary had a little lamb (7 syllables)
    Its fleece was white as SNOW (6 syllables)
    And everywhere that Mary went (8 syllables)
    The lamb was sure to GO (6 syllables)

    It followed her to school one day (8 syllables)
    That was against the RULES (6 syllables)
    It made the children laugh and shout (8 syllables)
    To see the lamb at SCHOOL (6 syllables)

    OR rhyming every line e.g.
    Twinkle, twinkle little STAR (7 syllables)
    How I wonder what you ARE? (7 syllables)
    Up above the world so HIGH (7 syllables)
    Like a diamond in the SKY (7 syllables)
    Twinkle, twinkle little STAR (7 syllables)
    How I wonder what you ARE? (7 syllables)

    In some sections of the script it was really clear but in some other parts it either wasn’t obvious or it sounded awkward and a bit contrived – it would be easier for learning the script too! If you have got the knack of finding rhymes you might find that you can take this on?

    Like

Leave a Reply

