Ballet – 11.10.16

I was so excited today because I really enjoy ballet. It is my favourite type of dancing and it’s something I can see myself doing in future. We discussed blog posts and pages of WordPress today so we didn’t do as much ballet as I hoped we were going to do.

So today we looked at positions of the arms and positioning of the feet. The sequence for me was really confused and I struggled keeping up with the music, thinking about my feet and my corresponding arms at the same time.

Here is the video of Helena showing the class what she needs us to do.

Here is the video of me trying to accomplish the task that was set and failing.

I felt like I have failed because I was really confused and we learnt the sequence really quickly and so I have to work on picking up ballet sequences faster than other dance techniques and dance genres.

 

One thought on “Ballet – 11.10.16”

  1. Jess, one of these videos is on private setting and so I cannot watch it.
    You write “I felt like I have failed because I was really confused and we learnt the sequence really quickly and so I have to work on picking up ballet sequences faster than other dance techniques and dance genres.”
    Are you able to identify why you find picking up ballet sequences harder than other dance genres?
    Is it the French language? Could you ‘translate’ it into terms that make sense to you? e.g. 2 points forward followed by a forward point, flex, point, close rather than 2 tendus devant followed by tendu, flex, tendu , close etc.
    I seem to think that I have also advised you to simplify the arms and concentrate on the legs and feet if you are finding a sequence too confusing.
    Do you feel uncomfortable / self-conscious asking me to go over the sequence again and again until you’ve got it? (You won’t be the only one who would benefit from this and they might be internally thanking you for asking for what they also wanted.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

